• 46th Annual Chamber Banquet

    • Share:
    February 01, 2018
    The Thomson-McDuffie Chamber of Commerce held their 46th Annual Chamber banquet on January 30th at Belle Meade Country Club.  It was an evening of fun, fellowship and recognition of Chamber businesses and representatives that have contributed above and beyond to McDuffie County.

    The event began with a welcome from the 2017 Board Chairman, Andy Knox Jr.  He addressed the group regarding the importance of telling everyone the story of McDuffie County and to be sure to share the positive news about our community. 

    Debbie Jones, Executive Director of the Chamber, discussed the year-end review and presented Andy with the Chairman’s plaque.  Andy then passed the gavel to the incoming chair, Bennett Dudley.  Bennett recognized the 2018 Board of Directors and expressed what an honor it is to be serving as chair.  He stressed the importance of being involved in the Chamber and building relationships with other Chamber members.

    Kenya Calhoun, Co-Chair of Leadership McDuffie, gave an update on Leadership McDuffie, and encouraged anyone that has not been a member to get involved in the next class.  She also discussed the upcoming “State of the Region” event that will be in Augusta on March 8th. 

    Angie Roberts, Youth Leadership director, noted that the program is in its second year and they have approximately 20 students from the McDuffie County area.  Several of the students were volunteering at the banquet for their volunteer hours required for this program. 

    Wayne Parham and Juanita Thomas, Co-Chairs of the Chamber Ambassadors, talked about the new “Business of the Week” program, and also thanked Farmers State Bank for being the sponsor of the Ambassadors.  They presented the Ambassador of the Year award to Jennifer Harris of the Thomson Family YMCA.

    Skip Griffin, ex-officio board member, presented the 2017 Mike Carrington Volunteer of the Year to Juanita Thomas of Legal Shield.  Riley Stamey, Interim Forward McDuffie Director, present the 2017 Business of the Year to Augusta Coating & Manufacturing.  Judge Jay Jones presented the Darrell M. Johnson award to Bill Howard of Jefferson Energy Cooperative.

    Chris Clark, President and CEO of the Georgia Chamber, was the guest speaker of the evening.  He talked about the future of rural Georgia, and to be prepared for the next generation of workers.  He complimented the Thomson-McDuffie Chamber on the direction they are moving to prepare future leaders in McDuffie County.

    Click here to view photos of the evening.
  • Upcoming Events

  • We invite you to offer other Chamber Members deals from your business